Strafford Co. Corrections Chapter Signs First Contract

Commissioner Leo Lessard Commission Chair George Maglaras CO Mike Garcia Neil Sgt Robert Farrell Commissioner Robert Watson

Strafford County Commissioner Leo Lessard, Commission Chair George Maglaras, Corrections Officer Mike Garcia, SEA/SEIU Local 1984 Field Representative Neil Smith, Sgt. Robert Farrell and County Commissioner Robert Watson pose for a photo after signing the first contract for Chapter 52, Strafford County Corrections.

Congratulations to the members of SEA/SEIU Local 1984 Chapter 52, Strafford County Corrections, who have signed their first contract.

The new contract is the culmination of many months of workers there building member power and growing union membership to where it is today, nearly 90 percent.

“This contract is a continuation of the good work we’ve been doing with the administration,” Rivera said. “We have the best run facility in NH with the best correctional staff. The contract gains come on the heels of agreements we’ve made with the management on tough issues like forced overtime.”

“We’ve built trust and it shows,” he said.

The one-year contract includes an average raise of 4.5 percent for workers along with no changes to health benefits. Chapter 52 President Adam Rivera said members have been working together with management on numerous issues, and this agreement is an extension of that.

Rep. Peter Schmidt, the chair of the Strafford County Convention, which must approve funding for county labor contracts, applauded the deal.

“I would like to congratulate the members of chapter 52 of the SEA/SEIU Local 1984 on their new contract,” Schmidt said. “When workers come together and have a voice at work, it makes a difference and today it shows.”

“This agreement reflects a win for the hardworking employees of the Strafford County House of Corrections and for public safety for the people of Strafford County,” Schmidt said.

Members of the bargaining team included Rivera, as well as Corrections Officer Mike Garcia, Corrections Officer Gillaen Nadeau, Corrections Officer Travis Corriveau, Sgt. Robert Farrell, Corrections Officer John Angis, Corrections Officer Brian Veit, LPN Nate Long and SEA Field Representative Neil Smith.

Subscribe to our Newsletter