Convention 2019 recap – Gulla picked for another term

Nine positions filled on the Board of Directors at annual convention

The members of the SEA/SEIU Local 1984 Board of Directors pose for a photo at the close of the 2019 Convention. 

SEA/SEIU Local 1984 President Rich Gulla will lead the organization for another two years, being selected for another term at the 79th Annual Convention on Saturday.

First Vice President Mary Fields and Second Vice President John Hattan also won new terms, keeping the union’s leadership team in place.

In addition to the above-listed positions, delegates to the convention filled numerous seats on the Board of Directors. Secretary Cindy Perkins won another term, and Kimothy Griffin was picked to replace Avis Crane as Treasurer. Crane, who is set to retire, will continue on the board as Immediate Past Treasurer.

Six members stepped forward to fill one of four board seats for state employees, including Heather Fairchild, Ken Muske, Peter Brunette, Cheryl Towne, Dennis Etchells and Teri Wardner.

With more than 100 ballots cast, the winners were: Heather Fairchild, Peter Brunette, Cheryl Towne and Ken Muske. Congratulations to the winners and thank you to all who came forward to lead.

There were no nominees for the open private sector seat on the board.

Election 2020

Additionally, 13 presidential candidates submitted short videos to Convention attendees that were played throughout the event and that you can view here:

Presidential candidates also filled out the Poli-Ed questionnaires, explaining their views on labor, equality, and several other issues. To read each submitted questionnaire, click here.

President’s report

In his annual report to delegates, President Gulla provided a snapshot of the union after another consequential year.

You can read the 2019 President’s Report here.

Award winners

Second Vice President John Hattan presents Director Germano Martins with the Ray Proulx Award for Political Action at the 2019 convention.

The Ray Proulx Award for Political Action was presented to Director Germano Martins. Martins, who has long been active in politics with the union and in his community, was surprised to win the award.

“The reason this is so special for me is I knew Ray Proulx, and he struck me as the most dedicated person I ever met,” Martins said. “I’m so honored to receive this. Thank you very much.”

Judy King, the president of Chapter 32 (CCSNH Adjunct Faculty), was presented with the Charlie Stevens Chapter President of the Year award. The Chapter of the Year Award was presented to Chapter 255, the Department of Corrections officers. Unfortunately, neither King nor representatives of Chapter 255 were able to accept in person. The John B. Parker Award for Outstanding Member was presented to Leah McKenna, Chapter 50 (Department of Environmental Services). The awards will be presented at a later date.

Resolutions and Amendments

Germano Martins, chair of the Resolutions Committee, presented seven resolutions, all of which were recommended ought to pass. You can read all resolutions here.

Resolutions one through five, all dealing with retirement, were approved without discussion. Resolution 6 – Fight for $15, was rejected after Director Jim Nall, the co-chair of the Executive Branch bargaining team, said that the resolution, as written, would tie the hands of the team. Nall said instead, SEA members should rise up to fight for a $15 minimum wage at the state and national levels. The final resolution, dealing with a pension system COLA was also approved.

Delegates were presented with 18 proposed constitutional amendments and approved all 18. You can read all amendments here.

Installation of directors

Well ahead of schedule, the convention drew to a close with the installation of directors. Parliamentarian Greg Ives administered the oath of office to the newly elected directors before President Gulla gaveled convention to a close.

Subscribe to our Newsletter