Convention 2015: Award Winners

Convention 2015 202

Burrett McBee, of Chapter 30, was presented with the John B. Parker Award for outstanding member.

The Chapter of the Year was awarded to Chapter 52, Strafford County Corrections. Over the last year, they embodied the spirit of the labor movement by creating their own chapter and successfully putting together a Labor Management Committee.

Director Jim Nall presented the John B. Parker Award to this year’s outstanding member, Burrett McBee, chapter 30, Plymouth State lecturers.  McBee serves on multiple volunteer committees, pushed organizing with his peers, works with the Fresh Air program and immigrants causes, and was deeply involved in securing the unit’s first collective bargaining agreement.

Convention 2015 214

Members of the Fight for $15 Committee accept the Ray Proulx Award for Political Activism.

Director John Hattan presented the Ray Proulx Award, which is given to the political activist of the year, to the Fight for $15 Committee for their work over the last year. This was the first time this award was given to a committee rather than an individual.  If you would like to know more about this committee you can read it here.

President Rich Gulla presented the Charles Stevens Award for chapter president of the year to Jennifer Hunt, president of Chapter 39, Judicial Branch. Gulla said, “This chapter president inspires others and has clearly not hesitated under difficult times; and advocates for her chapter’s members.”

Subscribe to our Newsletter